THE NEW MICKEY MOUSE CARTOONS

Originally posted on the MA Character animation course blog, published June 12th 2015.

I’ve never really liked Mickey Mouse as a character, he was way to boring for me. Never really stupid and clumsy like Goofy, never had a temperament like Donald Duck and was never as likeable as Pluto. Minnie Mouse was even worse, in my eyes, a completely useless character. I do like the old Mickey Mouse cartoons though and that’s because Mickey (and Minnie) had more of a personality, he could be both arrogant and a bit mean, but still a character to cheer for. Then he gradually became too flawless for me.

Then two years ago I heard that Disney Television Animation was going to produce new Mickey Mouse cartoon shorts. And although I have a lot of good memories about Disney TV animation like Ducktales, Darkwing Duck and Timon and Pumbaa. I haven’t been very fond of their work in later years. But, then I heard that the producer was Paul Rudish, who I knew of from some of my other TV animation favourites like Dexter’s Laboratory and the Powerpuff Girls and my hopes where rising.

And I have to say, I love these cartoons! So much that I’ve payed for all of them and keep looking at them over and over. These cartoons are basically what I would want to make myself or work on after graduating. The cartoons takes back the old Mickey Mouse both in style and in acting and Mickey is so much better as a character. His reactions and acting are so over the top at times and some of the jokes and situations in this series are so crazy I wonder how they got greenlighted.

exageration

The series also looks amazing, the characters are in their old classic style and the backgrounds are stunning at times, the whole series are bright and colourful and stands out even from the classic shorts. The animation is both simple and exaggerated and follows a pretty extreme illogical way. Here are some of my favourites:

When I started my St. Thomas Hospital project I considered if I should try to make it in this kind of simplistic TV animation style, but I changed my mind. Mostly because I’m not very familiar with it, but I’m thinking about it for my final film as I would love to work on something like this.

There are three seasons so far, fourth one is coming up. Most are uploaded to Youtube so I recommend you to check them out!

Leave a Reply

