31 DAYS, 31 DRAWINGS

Originally posted on the MA Character animation course blog, published November 3rd 2015.

This year is the first time I’ve ever done the inktober challenge. Which is to draw a drawing every day with some kind of ink, pen, markers etc. I’ve wanted to do it before but general procrastination has stopped me. But on the 1st October I managed to start and even keep it up all the way until the end.

Keeping it up was the biggest challenge. I was constantly writing down ideas so I didn’t have a reason to not draw because I couldn’t come up with something to draw. Still this month had some stressful days with deadlines and pitching and so on, so I was struggling at times. But, I got through it and I now love to work with markers! I’ve tried to draw on different coloured paper to see the different effect it has, I tried several different markers and styles and I’ve gradually got more confident with inks and to be bolder with colours and contrasts. And I’m so satisfied with my progression! I never thought I would improve this much in just a month, therefor I added one bonus drawing where I redrew my first inktober.

I’m going to try and do this next year as well and also keep drawing with inks and markers. It’s probably going to be more spontaneous though cause like I said it takes some discipline! I have SO much respect now for people that draws an animal, concept art, a painting and so on every day for up to a year or longer, I don’t know how they do it!

Anyways, here they all are in order of the days!

Bonus drawing!

32

Leave a Reply

