Water colouring and Trollhunters

Earlier this year I was introduced to the new Netflix series Trollhunters by my friend Selom. He was already obsessed with it and was sure I was going to like it and he was right! I absolutely love it! It’s so beautiful, the story is very good, the animation is amazing, but what I love the most is the characters. Not only their design, but their personalities too and mostly how impressively complex they are. And how they so obviously have flaws and makes dumb decisions even if they are of the good guys. I also love the villains for how evil, ice cold and brutal they actually are and what lengths they are willing to go to to get power.

It’s a Guillermo del Toro production so it make a bit more sense when knowing that. He is one of my favourite directors exactly for that reason. The ability to go impressively dark mainly by letting the characters act towards each other without physical violence or gore, but just with their actions and the atmosphere.

I’m going to make another post about this series later cause I have much more to say about it, but for now I’m going to show you some fan art I’m working on.

I haven’t really made that much fan art the last few years as my drawing skills eventually reached a level were I could visualise my own ideas from imagination in a satisfying way. But as I’ve been wanting to practise my water colouring skills for a while and this series has a beautiful colour palette I decided to use it for inspiration and try to fill a whole paper with colour.

It’s not finished yet, but I’m slowly getting there. I’m busy looking for work at the moment so it’s not my first priority. When it’s eventually done I’ll post it here. You can check out my twitter or Instagram for a quick video on me painting.

And also, sorry that not all the pictures are very good. My phone just can’t handle or process the colours very well and we have spot lights in the kitchen, which gives a very good working light, but are not good for photos.

Leave a Reply

